## BALDWIN COUNTY LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE (LEPC)

## **General Information:**

Baldwin County LEPC was created by Baldwin County Resolution dated 09/15/1987 for the purpose of compliance with the Public Law 99-499, the Superfund Amendment and Reauthorization of Act of 1986 (SARA).

SARA 1986, Subtitle A - Emergency Planning and Notification, Section 103, states that the committee shall include at a minimum, representatives from each of the following groups or organizations: elected State and local officials, law enforcement, civil defense, firefighting, first aid, health, local environmental, hospital, and transportation personnel, broadcast and print media, community group and owners and operators of facilities subject to the requirements of this subtitle.

The Baldwin County Emergency Management Agency will serve as office of record for LEPC.

Chairperson shall be elected by a majority vote of the LEPC members and recommended by the BCC for appointment.

All elected members shall serve a term of three (3) years and may serve consecutive terms.

MEMBERS	APPOINTED/REAPPOINTED	TERM OF OFFICE	EXPIRATION DATE
Chairperson  Chief Joey Darby, City of Foley Fire Department	Approved the appointment of Joey Darby as Chairman, as elected by the majority vote by Baldwin County Local Emergency Planning Committee members, term commenced January 1, 2022	3 years	01/01/2025
Elected Officials	Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer	3 years	
Appointed Members	Community Emergency Coordinator (EMA Director, Acting Director or the Director's designee)  Members-At-Large, appointed by the elected members		

<sup>\*</sup>The Baldwin County Commission approved and accepted the re-ratification of the current LEPC Operating Rules and the restructuring of the membership appointments with members designated by position/organization/group affiliation rather than by individual persons by name (Agenda Item BC1, January 19, 2016, BCC Regular Meeting).

**REVISED: 02/01/2022 vak**